



September 14, 2021

Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence Winners Announced

Two RMA members are among the award winners

Alberta Municipal Affairs has announced the winners of the 2021 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence. The awards recognize municipal innovations and successes in a variety of categories. This year, the Minister provided special recognition to municipal leaders in reducing red tape by presenting awards to three additional municipalities.

The 2021 winners are:

- Building Economic Strength Award: City of Medicine Hat
- Enhancing Community Safety Award: Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo
- Partnership Award: Town of Devon (with Enoch Cree Nation Maskêkosihk)
- Service Delivery Innovation Award: Town of Okotoks
- Smaller Municipalities Award: Town of Bruderheim

The red tape reduction award winners are:

- Urban municipality under 10,000: Village of Elnora
- Urban municipality over 10,000: City of Lloydminster
- ◆ Rural municipality: Red Deer County

RMA congratulates all award winners, particularly the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo and Red Deer County! To learn more about the winning projects, visit the 2021 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence website.

Wyatt Skovron
Manager of Policy & Advocacy
780.955.4096
wyatt@RMAlberta.com