



March 30, 2021

## **Coal Policy Engagement Survey Now Available**

Share your thoughts on Alberta's approach to coal development

The Government of Alberta (GOA) has announced the establishment of a Coal Policy Committee, an independent group to lead the coal policy engagement process. To ensure that the views of all Albertans are represented during the process, the GOA has created a survey to help inform Alberta's approach to the responsible development of coal resources. The deadline to complete the survey is **April 19, 2021**.

There are five members on the coal policy committee and they represent a range of perspectives on coal development:

- Ron Wallace (Chair), former permanent member of the National Energy Board
- Fred Bradley, former Minster of Environment under Premier Peter Lougheed and MLA for Pincher Creek-Crowsnest
- Natalie Charlton, Executive Director at Hinton and District Chamber of Commerce
- ◆ Bill Trafford, President of Livingstone Landowners' Group
- Eric North Peigan, member of Piikani Nation

The coal policy engagement announcement has further details on each committee member. The committee is expected to finish their final report, which will provide advice and recommendation to the Minister of Energy by **November 15, 2021**.

RMA staff will continue to update members on the coal policy engagement process through the Contact newsletter.

Alex Mochid
Policy Advisor

780.955.4085

alex@RMAlberta.com

## Tasha Blumenthal

Director of Advocacy & External Relations 780.955.4094

tasha@RMAlberta.com