



February 5, 2020

# Apply for the 2020 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence

The Honourable Kaycee Madu, Minister of Municipal Affairs, is pleased to announce the **2020 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence**. The 19th annual awards recognize municipal government excellence and promotes knowledge sharing among municipalities.

For the 2020 program, submissions will be accepted in the **following categories**:

## Partnership (open to all municipalities)

Award will be given for an innovative initiative involving a local or regional partnership that achieves results that could not have otherwise been accomplished by the municipality alone. This could involve cooperation, coordination, and collaboration with other municipalities, businesses, Indigenous communities, non-profit organizations, community groups, and other orders of government to achieve a specific outcome.

### Building Economic Strength (open to all municipalities)

Award will be given for an innovative initiative involving the municipality and business community that addresses a challenge affecting community economic strength.

#### Service Delivery Innovation (open to all municipalities)

Award will be given for an innovative initiative that improves the delivery or reduces the cost of a program or service through a more efficient process or through the use of an alternate delivery approach.

#### Enhancing Community Safety (open to all municipalities)

Award will be given for an innovative initiative that engages the community to address a safety issue. This could involve crime prevention, infrastructure enhancements (e.g. lighting, accessibility, traffic calming measures), and community services initiatives.

#### Smaller Municipalities (open to municipalities with populations less than 5,000)

Award will be given for a municipal initiative that demonstrates leadership, resourcefulness, and/or innovation to better the community.

Submission forms and additional details can be found on the **Minister's** Awards webpage. The deadline for submissions is **March 31, 2020.** 

2510 Sparrow Drive Nisku, Alberta T9E 8N5

> OFFICE: 780.955.3639 FAX: 780.955.3615 RMAIberta.com





Questions regarding the Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence can be directed to the Municipal Excellence Team:

San James

- Phone: 780.427.2225
- Email: menet@gov.ab.ca

For enquiries, please contact:

Wyatt Skovron Senior Policy Advisor wyatt@RMAlberta.com

Tasha Blumenthal Director of External Relations & Advocacy tasha@RMAlberta.com

> 2510 Sparrow Drive Nisku, Alberta T9E 8N5

A

OFFICE: 780.955.3639 FAX: 780.955.3615 RMAlberta.com