



March 7, 2019

REMINDER: Resolutions for the RMA Spring 2019 Convention Now Available

The resolutions that will be presented during the resolution session at the RMA Spring 2019 Convention are now available. See the attachment to this bulletin for the **complete resolution package**.

Resolution Amendments

Any members wishing to propose amendments to resolutions included in the attached resolutions package are encouraged to email proposed amendments to RMA Policy Analyst Wyatt Skovron at wyatt@RMAlberta.com noting the resolution number. Amendments can be proposed from the floor but sending the amendments in advance supports an efficient resolution session.

Emergent Resolution Process Reminder

As per RMA's **resolution process policy**, an **emergent resolution** is defined as a resolution submitted to RMA after the resolution deadline that deals with a subject or problem that has arisen subsequent to the resolution deadline. The RMA Resolutions Committee will meet prior to the resolutions session at the spring convention to review any resolutions submitted after the resolutions deadline to determine if they meet the definition of emergent.

If the resolution is deemed to be emergent, it will come to the convention floor through the appropriate process. Sponsoring municipalities will be notified by the committee as to the committee's decision if the resolution is emergent in nature. The member bringing forward the emergent resolution must, at their own expense, provide copies for voting members in attendance (minimum 600). Members submitting an emergent resolution are encouraged to bring 600 copies of their resolution to convention for distribution in the event that the resolutions committee deems the resolution to meet the definition of emergent. The RMA is not responsible for copying or distributing emergent resolutions on behalf of sponsoring municipalities.

Any members who intend to bring forward an emergent resolution for consideration are encouraged to advise a member of the RMA Resolutions Committee or RMA Policy Analyst Wyatt Skovron at wyatt@RMAlberta.com as soon as possible.

Committee members are as follows:

- Chair Kara Westerlund, RMA Vice President, kwesterlund@RMAlberta.com or 780.955.4076
- District 1 Randy Taylor, County of Warner
- District 2 Bruce Beattie, Mountain View County

2510 Sparrow Drive Nisku, Alberta T9E 8N5

> OFFICE: 780.955.3639 FAX: 780.955.3615 RMAlberta.com





- District 3 Jackie McCuaig, Parkland County
- District 4 Leanne Beaupre, County of Grande Prairie

Sen of the second

District 5 – Eric Anderson, County of Minburn

For enquiries, please contact:

Wyatt Skovron Policy Analyst wyatt@RMAlberta.com

Tasha Blumenthal Director of External Relations & Advocacy tasha@RMAlberta.com

> 2510 Sparrow Drive Nisku, Alberta T9E 8N5

A

OFFICE: 780.955.3639 FAX: 780.955.3615 RMAlberta.com